Daily Archives: September 12, 2014

2015 Interleague Home/Away Schedules MLB – Team By Team

Interleague_Logo

Interleague 2015 (20 Games Each Team, 10 Home And 10 Away)

American League

 

AL East

 

New York Yankees

Home:  vs NYM (3) FRI Apr 24 – Sun Apr 26, vs WSH (2)  Tues June 9 – Wed June 10,  vs MIA (2) Wed June 17 – Thu June 18, vs PHI (3) Mon June 22 – Wed June 24.

Away:  @ WSH (2) Tues May 18 – Wed May 19  @ MIA (2) Mon June 15 – Tues June 16,  @ ATL (3) Fri Aug 28 – Sun Aug 30, @ NYM Fri Sept 18 – Sun Sept  20.

Baltimore Orioles

Home: vs PHI (2) Mon June 15 – Tues June 16, vs WSH (3) Fri July 10 – Sun July 12, vs ATL (3) Mon July 27 – Wed July 29, vs NYM (2) Tues Aug 19 – Wed Aug 20

Away: @ NYM (2) Tues May 5 – Wed May 6, @ MIA (3) Fri May 22 – Sun May 24, @ PHI (2)  Wed June 17 – Thu June 18, @ WSH (3) Mon Sept.21 – Wed Sept 23. Read the rest of this entry

2015 NL Interleague Home/Away Schedules MLB – Team By Team

 

National League Logo

Interleague 2015 (20 Games Each Team, 10 Home And 10 Away)

National League Teams

 

NL East

Washington Nationals

Home:  vs NYY (2) Tues May 18 – Wed May 19, vs TOR (3) Mon June 1 – Wed June 3, vs TB Wed June 17 – Thu June 18, vs BAL (3) Mon Sept 21 – Wed July 23.

Away:  @ BOS (3) Mon Apr 13 – Wed Apr 15, @ NYY (2) Tues June 8 – Wed June 9, @ TB (2) Mon June 15 – Tues June 16, @ BAL (3) Fri July 12 – Sun Jul 14.

Miami Marlins

Home:  vs TB (3) Fri Apr 10 – Sun Apr 12, vs BAL (3) Fri May 22 – Sun May 24, vs NYY (2) Monday June 15 – Tuesday June 16, vs BOS (2) Tues Aug 11 – Wed Aug 12.

Away; @ TOR (3) Mon June 8 – Wed June 10, @ NYY (2) Wed June 17 – Thu June 18, @ BOS (2) Tues July 7 – Wed July 8, @ 3 (TB) Tues Sept 29 – Oct. Read the rest of this entry

It Is Time To Move Miguel Cabrera Permanently To The DH Role

Someone should be tackled if they put Cabrera back in the field for the remainder of the 2014 season.  I personally believe he should be transitioned to the DH position permanently.  You are speaking about the best pure offensive player in the game.  The man has to play for the next decade.

Someone should be tackled if they put Cabrera back in the field for the remainder of the 2014 season. I personally believe he should be transitioned to the DH position permanently. You are speaking about the best pure offensive player in the game. The man has to play for the next decade.  Cabrera has fought his off season surgery for a torn groin, to put up decent numbers in 2014 – .310/.370/.514 3 Slash Line with 22 HRs and 101 RBI.  Yes, he is leading the league with 45 Doubles, but he will likely fail to hit 30 HRs for the 1st time as a Tiger this campaign. The .885 OPS would also mark his worst total since his rookie year.  He has shown this week he can handle the DH role.

I am not talking just about 2014 here.  Miguel Cabrera has come off his short rest, to bash out 8 hits in 3 games – since taking the position of DH on the club.  So I say…just leave him there forever.

Often I have wondered why more teams don’t just take advantage of the slot in the American League.  Instead, for most clubs, the Designated Hitter is used as an off day, or for matchup preferences.

You want to know why Boston has 3 World Series in the last 10 years… I will tell you… David Ortiz!!

Big Papi has been so much more productive than every other player at the role, that having him against the pack gives the Red Sox a clear cut upper hand.

I know Cabrera is making megabucks now, but are you really going to miss his defensive prowess at 1B?

Who cares about piling up AL MVP’s because the voters are always biased about 1 way players.  The Tigers should be going for World Series Titles, and what better way to preserve their #1 commodity. Read the rest of this entry

The Nationals Are Not The Team You Think They Are

 All of the Nats starting position players last night have an BA of .244 (low with Cabrera) or better (.299 highest (in Span), .300 OBP (low .304 (Desmond), high .383 (Werth) or more, and most important – is that all 8 have an SLG % north of .400 (.401 Ramos is low and LaRoche highest at .468, While those numbers aren’t good for one player, the depth of the team is that good. Span is going to score a 100 runs. The 2 – 5 hitters, Rendon, Werth, LaRoche and Desmond will all near 20 HRs and 90 RBI – while Harper and Ramos surely would have belted 20 HRs each if not for injury. Their 8 hitter, Cabrera, has a career OPS of .742. These guys have the lengthiest offense in the NL. That is not even talking about their Pitching, which may be their biggest asset…

All of the Nats starting position players last night have an BA of .244 (low with Cabrera) or better (.299 highest (in Span), .300 OBP (low .304 (Desmond), high .383 (Werth) or more, and most important – is that all 8 have an SLG % north of .400 (.401 Ramos is low and LaRoche highest at .468, While those numbers aren’t good for one player, the depth of the team is that good. Span is going to score a 100 runs. The 2 – 5 hitters, Rendon, Werth, LaRoche and Desmond will all near 20 HRs and 90 RBI – while Harper and Ramos surely would have belted 20 HRs each if not for injury. Their 8 hitter, Cabrera, has a career OPS of .742. These guys have the lengthiest offense in the NL. That is not even talking about their Pitching, which may be their biggest asset…

David Huzzard (www.citizensofnatstown.com Writer):

Follow MLB Reports On Twitter 

Pick up a newspaper or turn on local sports radio and any conversation about the Nats will eventually devolve to how they are a team of guys all pulling in one direction and doing whatever it takes to win.

The picture being painted is the Nationals as a team of grit and heart and hustle but most importantly a team.

There is a belief that the Nationals have no star players and if you isolated yourself to local coverage it’s easy to believe that but then you’d also believe that the Capitals and Wizards have no star players either and the only star player in Washington DC worthy of praise is Kirk Cousins.
Read the rest of this entry

Sully Baseball Daily Podcast – September 12, 2014

Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images North America

Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images North America

The way the season is unfolding, a Dodgers/Giants post season matchup is a distinct possibility.

Also, a hit by pitch may have clinched the MVP for Giancarlo Stanton.

That and more on today’s episode  of The Sully Baseball Daily Podcast.

Johnny Cueto, Chris Sale, Anthony Rendon, Chris Young, Lance Lynn, Alex Cobb, Yunel Escobar and Cliff Pennington all added to their totals for Who Owns Baseball?

Read the rest of this entry

Who Owned Baseball Sept 11, 2014 (Daily AL/NL Pitcher + Hitter MVP’s) + 2014 #WOB Standings

AP Photo/Al Behrman

AP Photo/Al Behrman

Johnny Cueto pitched 8 shutout innings, allowing just 3 hits and walking one Cardinal batter and won the 1-0 pitchers duel for the Reds.

Chris Sale dominated the A’s over 8 shutout innings, letting up 2 hits, 2 walks while striking out 9 and earned the 1-0 victory for the White Sox.

Anthony Rendon went 3-5 with a homer, 2 runs scored and 2 RBI, helping the Nationals beat the Mets, 6-2 and inch closer to a Division Title.

Chris Young broke up the Tampa no hitter in the 8th with a double and then crushed a walk off, come from behind 3 run homer to win it in the 9th for the Yankees, 5-4.

They owned baseball on Sept 11, 2014.

To view the Yearly Leaders for Who Owned Baseball Standings, plus see who gained 1/2 WOB’s – Click the READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY ICON OR SCROLL DOWN.

%d bloggers like this: