Blog Archives

Who Owned Baseball For 2014 – The Final Regular Season Tally

Getty Images, USA Today Sports and The Seattle Times

Getty Images, USA Today Sports and The Seattle Times

Andrew McCutchen of the Pirates… Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers… Mike Trout of the Angels… Felix Hernandez of the Mariners.

They all owned baseball in 2014.

After a full year of checking each game and determining which player owned the game for that day, there were 4 winners.

McCutchen beat out Atlanta’s Freddie Freeman by a 9 to 7 1/2 final.

Kershaw had the highest overall WOB total, 14 1/2, topping Johnny Cueto‘s 11.

The American League races were razor thin.

Trout beat Oakland’s Josh Donaldson by a final of 9 1/2 to 9. Meanwhile King Felix squeaked past Corey Kluber of the Indians 11 to 10 1/2 (with Chris Sale close by at 9)

If I turned in a ballot with McCutchen winning NL MVP, Kershaw winning NL Cy Young, Trout winning AL MVP and Hernandez winning the AL Cy Young, could anyone protest?

Sure I could make valid arguments for Giancarlo Stanton winning the NL MVP. (His WOB total was a surprisingly low 4.) And of course Kluber and Hernandez is basically a coin toss right now. But the above ballot would certainly be acceptable.

WOB works. Adding the 1/2 WOB dynamic made it more accurate than last year.

Thanks for following it for the year. For the post season, I will have new tallies for “Who Owned October?” (WOO) and “Who Owned the World Series?” (WOWS.)

To view the Final Tally of Who Owned Baseball Standings, plus see who gained 1/2 WOB’s – Click the READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY ICON OR SCROLL DOWN.

%d bloggers like this: