Daily Archives: October 10, 2018

Retroactively Awarding Division Series MVPs from 1995 to 2018


Jayne Kamin-Oncea, USA TODAY Sports

The Division Series are now all complete. But before we move on to the ALCS or NLCS, why not award an MVP for the Division Series.

I can not understand why there is no MVP awarded to the top performer of the Division Series.

It is a post season series that will be the highlight of the year for the 2 teams that lose the League Championship Series. Sure the series could be over in 3 games. But when the ALCS and NLCS was best of 5, they awarded an MVP for THOSE series.

This has been a tradition on the Sully Baseball blog to award each season’s Division Series MVP. And I also list the past MVPs dating back to the first year the Division Series became an annual event.

And this listing also includes the MVPs for the 1981 Divisional Playoffs as well. Why not?

And now there are four new Division Series MVPs, whose post season heroics will NOT go unnoticed here!

American League
Martinez homered in the first inning of Game 1, setting a tone for the series. He would finish batting .357 with a .992 OPS, driving in 6 runs in the 4 game victory of the Red Sox over the Yankees.
In the Astros three game sweep of the Indians, Bregman’s numbers stood out. He batted .556, slugged .1333 with an eye popping 2.048 OPS, homering twice and driving in 4.
National League
Moustakas batted .364 with a .916 OPS, driving in a pair including a walk off hit in the opener, and playing great defense as the Brewers made quick work of Colorado in a three game sweep.
In an age of short outings for starting pitchers, Kershaw had an old school ace performance. He threw 8 shutout innings, allowing 2 hits and walking none, silencing the Braves attack and setting up the Dodgers 4 game Division Series victory.

To view the Hypothetical Division Series MVPs from Previous Series – Click the READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY ICON OR SCROLL DOWN.

%d bloggers like this: