Who Owns Baseball – Updated May.01/2013

Edwin Encarnacion

Edwin Encarnacion of the Toronto Blue Jays hit a pair of home runs including the go ahead shot in the 7th inning against first place Boston.

Justin Verlander pitched 7 strong innings, striking out 8, as the Tigers beat the Minnesota Twins and kept their spot on the top of the standings.

Rickie Weeks of the Brewers got on base four times, scored three times, drove in five and homered as Milwaukee beat Pittsburgh 12-8.

And in a night of terrific National League pitching (including wonderful performances from Tim Hudson, Hyun Jin Ryu, Kevin Slowey, Bronson Arroyo, Madison Bumgarner, Trevor Cahill and Jeremy Hefner) it was Jaime Garcia who won the night. He pitched 8 outstanding innings of a tense 2-1 Cardinal victory over the rival Cincinnati Reds.

They all owned baseball on April 30, 2013

My explanation for “Who Owns Baseball” can be found here.

At the end of the year, we will tally up who owned baseball the most individual days and see how it compares to the final MVP and Cy Young vote.

To view the Yearly Leaders for Who Owned Baseball Standings – Click the READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY ICON.

So let’s update the tally taking into account their heroics last night.

Players with Multiple Votes:

Leaders for the National League Hitter

Bryce Harper – 4

Zack Cozart – 2

Buster Posey – 2

Wilin Rosario – 2

Justin Upton – 2

Leaders for the National League Pitcher

Clayton Kershaw – 3

Adam Wainwright – 3

Yovani Gallardo– 2

Gio Gonzalez – 2

Cliff Lee – 2

Shelby Miller – 2

Barry Zito – 2

Leaders for American League Hitter

Prince Fielder – 2

Travis Hafner – 2

Justin Maxwell – 2

Leaders for American League Pitcher

Clay Buchholz – 3

Alex Cobb– 2

Kevin Correia-2

Derek Holland – 2

Yu Darvish – 2

Matt Moore– 2

Guys Who Owned Baseball For One Day

Alexi Amarista, Brett Anderson, J. P. ArencibiaBronson ArroyoHomer Bailey, Carlos Beltran, Madison BumgarnerA.J. BurnettMiguel CabreraRobinson Cano, Yoenis Cespedes, Shin-Soo ChooBartolo Colon, Carlos Corporan, Chris DavisWade DavisR.A. DickeyJacoby Ellsbury Edwin Encarnacion, Jaime GarciaAdrian GonzalezCarlos Gonzalez, Alex GordonA.J. GriffinMatt HarveyFelix HernandezAustin Jackson, Adam JonesHowie KendrickHiroki KurodaJon LesterJames LoneyJed LowrieLance LynnManny MachadoPaul MaholmJustin MastersonJoe MauerAndrew McCutchenMichael McKenryWill MiddlebrooksBrandon MossMike NapoliDaniel NavaBud NorrisAngel PaganGerardo ParraAndy PettitteBrandon PhillipsA. J. PierzynskiAlbert PujolsWandy RodriguezSergio Romo, CC Sabathia, Anibal Sanchez, Gaby SanchezErvin SantanaDrew Smyly, Giancarlo Stanton, Nick Tepesch, Matt Tuiasosopo, Troy Tulowitzki, Jordany ValdespinWill Venable, Justin VerlanderEdinson Volquez, Rickie WeeksJake Westbrook,  Matt WietersTravis WoodRyan Zimmerman Jordan Zimmermann

Follow sullybaseball on Twitter

About Paul Francis Sullivan

Creator of Sully Baseball

Posted on May 1, 2013, in The Rest: Everything Baseball and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

%d bloggers like this: