Who Owns Baseball – Updated April.30/2013

Carlos Corporan, Austin Romine

It was a wild night of baseball with many heroes. But only four can own baseball.

Despite the heroics of Brandon Moss and the 19th inning “Stagger off” homer in Oakland, I am declaring that Carlos Corporan of the Houston Astros owned baseball. His double in the first put the Yankees on their heels and his home run helped put them away. And then he showed toughness by staying in the game at catcher after he looked injured trying to take third.

With all due respect to Joe Saunders of the Mariners and Ubaldo Jimenez of the Indians, Oakland’s Brett Anderson owned baseball last night. He came into the game in the 13th inning with a bad ankle and pitched into the 18th. On a night where he knew he had off, he wound up essentially pitching a quality start and all after 10:30PM!

Willin Rosario went 3-4 with a key home run as the first place Rockies blew out the Dodgers in Chavez Ravine 12-2.

And Brewers ace Yovani Gallardo not only pitched seven strong innings but he hit a home run in Milwaukee’s 10-4 win over the Pittsburgh Pirates.

They all owned baseball on April 29, 2013

My explanation for “Who Owns Baseball” can be found here.

At the end of the year, we will tally up who owned baseball the most individual days and see how it compares to the final MVP and Cy Young vote.

To view the Yearly Leaders for Who Owned Baseball Standings – Click the READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY ICON

So let’s update the tally taking into account their heroics last night.

Players with Multiple Votes:

Leaders for the National League Hitter

Bryce Harper – 4

Zack Cozart – 2

Buster Posey – 2

Wilin Rosario – 2

Justin Upton – 2

Leaders for the National League Pitcher

Clayton Kershaw – 3

Adam Wainwright – 3

Yovani Gallardo– 2

Gio Gonzalez – 2

Cliff Lee – 2

Shelby Miller – 2

Barry Zito – 2

Leaders for American League Hitter

Prince Fielder – 2

Travis Hafner – 2

Justin Maxwell – 2

Leaders for American League Pitcher

Clay Buchholz – 3

Alex Cobb– 2

Kevin Correia-2

Derek Holland – 2

Yu Darvish – 2

Matt Moore– 2

Guys Who Owned Baseball For One Day

Alexi Amarista, Brett Anderson, J. P. ArencibiaBronson ArroyoHomer Bailey, Carlos Beltran, Madison BumgarnerA.J. BurnettMiguel CabreraRobinson Cano, Yoenis Cespedes, Shin-Soo ChooBartolo Colon, Carlos Corporan, Chris DavisWade DavisR.A. DickeyJacoby Ellsbury Adrian GonzalezCarlos Gonzalez, Alex GordonA.J. GriffinMatt HarveyFelix HernandezAustin Jackson, Adam JonesHowie KendrickHiroki KurodaJon LesterJames LoneyJed LowrieLance LynnManny MachadoPaul MaholmJustin MastersonJoe MauerAndrew McCutchenMichael McKenryWill MiddlebrooksBrandon MossMike NapoliDaniel NavaBud NorrisAngel PaganGerardo ParraAndy PettitteBrandon PhillipsA. J. PierzynskiAlbert PujolsWandy RodriguezSergio Romo, CC Sabathia, Anibal Sanchez, Gaby SanchezErvin SantanaDrew Smyly, Giancarlo Stanton, Nick Tepesch, Matt Tuiasosopo, Troy Tulowitzki, Jordany ValdespinWill Venable, Edinson VolquezMatt WietersJake Westbrook,  Travis WoodRyan Zimmerman Jordan Zimmermann

Follow sullybaseball on Twitter

About Paul Francis Sullivan

Creator of Sully Baseball

Posted on April 30, 2013, in MLB Teams: Articles and Analysis, The Rest: Everything Baseball and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

%d bloggers like this: