2016 NL Cy Young Award Candidates

Charles LeClaire, USA TODAY Sports

Charles LeClaire, USA TODAY Sports

Ground Rule Triple Blog (Featured Baseball Website/ 

Follow The MLB Reports On Twitter 

The Senior Circuit had a very close Cy Young race last season when Zack Greinke’s 1.66 ERA and 19-3 record went against Jake Arrieta’s 1.77 ERA and 22-6 record and Clayton Kershaw’s 300 strikeouts.

Arrieta beat out Greinke and Kershaw in the end but if it was any other year, there’s a good chance any of the other two would’ve won it. So who will be the NL Cy Young in 2016?

This year’s class will have a tough job of surpassing the statistics of last year’s finalists, but who knows?

Past Cy Young Winners

Bartolo Colón (2005 Angels; Padres): The 42-year-old Bartolo Colón will be returning to the Mets this year where he’s expected to fill that back-end rotation spot until Zack Wheeler returns in 2016. His most recent productive season was 2013 when was an All-Star.

After Wheeler returns, Colón won’t have a spot in the young Mets’ rotation and it’s highly unlikely he’ll be able to contend for the Cy Young at age 42.




About MLB reports

24/7 MLB talk, news, and reports: If baseball is your passion, this site is for you! Follow us on twitter at:

Posted on February 12, 2016, in Players: Fantasy Baseball Articles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on 2016 NL Cy Young Award Candidates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: